Rho Delta Lambda Chapter


The Birth of Rho Delta Lambda Chapter

In the mid–1990s, five men of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. came together with the vision of establishing an alumni chapter of the fraternity in the Anderson County area.   Brothers Winston C. Floyd, Daniel W. Grisham Sr., Herman A. Keith, Darryl J. Mattison, and Stephen L. Rousey met monthly at the Rocky River Association in Belton, SC. It was decided that the first order of business would be to locate and establish a dialog with other Alphas who lived in the area. Soon, Brothers Rufus Mitchell, Alphonso Norris, and Eugene J. Stuckey, Sr. joined the group.

The meetings were moved to the Share Office Building in Anderson, SC. Soon, brothers from Abbeville and Greenwood Counties became regular attendees at meetings.

The focus of the group turned to getting the necessary approvals to charter a chapter. Brothers Daniel W. Grisham, Sr. and Darryl Mattison, along with support from then Regional Vice President Lynwood L. Bell, Sr., worked tirelessly to satisfy the requirements for chartering a new chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

On Wednesday evening of August 26, 1998, the Rho Delta Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. received its charter in Anderson, SC. The chapter was established under General President Adrian L. Wallace. The sixteen charter members of the Chapter, like our beloved Jewels before them, embraced manly deeds, scholarship, and love for all mankind as their aims. Shortly thereafter, Brother Daniel W. Grisham, Sr. was elected as the first chapter president, and Brother Herman A. Keith served as the first vice-president.

                                                              CHARTER MEMBERS

                              Clarence L.B. Addison - Ω           Charles T. Battle, Jr. - Ω

                               Earl Battle                                          Joseph Brownlee

                             Winston C. Floyd                                           Daniel W. Grisham, Sr.

                               Jerome A. Hudson                                      Herman A. Keith - Ω 

                            Zachariah J. Keith - Ω                            Harold J. Mackey

                           Darryl J. Mattison                                 Alphonso Norris, Jr.- Ω

                          Joseph Reynolds                                   Stephen L. Rousey

                          James B. Tisdale, Jr.                             James A. Wakefield

                                                                                                                                                       Ω denotes brothers who are deceased